Labasa football team wins its fifth Champion Versus Champion Series with a 2-1 win over Suva at the ANZ stadium. FFA photo

Photo Gallery

Midway Car Rental

Nadi reigns

Local Sports

Nadi win 2017 IDC: Picture,submittedNadi win 2017 IDC: Picture,submittedNADI retained the Inter District Championship in a dramatic 4-3 shootout win against Rewa at the Newton Athletic Park on Sunday.

The sides' resorted to penalty kicks after playing to a 1-1 draw at the end of extra time.

Nadi midfielder, Rylan Sangha had given his team the lead from a penalty kick in the first half, but Rewa's Bradley Lal returned a timely second half favor in the nick of time to send the game into extra-time.

The ‘Green Machine’ missed a spot-kick during the shootout, while Rewa missed two kicks for Nadi’s back to back, 2016-2017 IDC title.

The final was a repeat of the 2016 grand finale between the very teams, one that Nadi won on a Kamlesh Krishna strike.

Nadi has established itself as Fijian soccer’s most consistence team for the last decade, winning a double treble, 2007-2009, 2011-2013 and a double 2016-2017.

Meanwhile in the Masters final, Ba on the back of their very first League title, claimed the IDC championship with a convincing 3-1 win over Tailevu/Naitasiri.

Marquee, Ronald Chaudhary scored a natural hat trick for Ba's second IDC title, the first they won 1-0 against Rewa in 2012.

Chaudhary was then a member of the star laced Rewa team that had the likes of football great Ivor Evans and Don Shahim, the former Rewa sensation of the 80s and other star players.


meter for a website