Italy players celebrate UEFA Euro championship after their 3-2 shootout win against England at Wembley Stadium in England: UFEA

Midway Car Rental

Rugby Canada hosts awards dinner

Local Sports

Canada rugby celebratesCanada rugby celebratesThe best of Canadian Rugby will be celebrated on Thursday, March 8, 2018 in Vancouver as Rugby Canada hosts the 5th Annual Awards Dinner.


Rugby Canada is delighted to announce the player of the year finalists for 2017! The nominations are as follows:


Women’s Sevens:
-Brittany Benn
-Bianca Farella
-Julia Greenshields
-Ghislaine Landry

Men’s Sevens:
-Justin Douglas
-Mike Fuailefau
-Lucas Hammond
-Nathan Hirayama

Women’s Fifteens:
-Elissa Alarie
-DaLeaka Menin
-Kelly Russell
-Julianne Zussman

Men’s Fifteens:
-Brett Beukeboom
-Matt Heaton
-Taylor Paris
-DTH van der Merwe

2018 will be the sixth year Rugby Canada has hosted the awards ceremony. Last year’s event, which featured over 400 members of the rugby community, included induction of the inaugural Hall of Fame of Fame class, which included Al Charron, Rod Snow, Ro Hindson, Gareth Rees, Gillian Florence, Robert Spray, Mike Luke and Honorary Life Members Stephanie White and John Billingsley.

Rugby Canada would also like to thank Keith Gillam, who stepped down as Chair of the National Recognition and Awards Committee transitioning the role to former Canadian International and Board Member Dawn Dauphniee.   Dawn will chair the committee that includes current Board Members Araba Chintoh and John Seaman, British Columbia Rugby CEO Annabel Kehoe and Penny Kroll, Rugby Canada’s Senior Manager of Fund Development & Community Relations.

The National Recognition Committee is responsible for leading the development of a legitimate and revered domestic recognition and awards system.

meter for a website